Addicted to the little white screen

When Little Bug was a newborn, I would often look at my phone while I was feeding him at night. Mostly I was looking at information on breastfeeding; trying to figure out how to stop it being painful. I needed to stay awake then to make sure I was feeding correctly, it was all so new and strange. 

Now when Little Bug wakes up, my aim is to get him back to sleep as quickly as possible, so that I am not too roused from sleep myself. If I get totally woken up, then it can take some time for me to get back to sleep.

I’ve realised that if I look at my phone in the night, it can make it really hard for me to get back to sleep. In fact if I look at my phone in the last hour before bed, it makes it harder for me to get back to sleep for every wake up for the rest of the night. This should be no surprise to me. There is so much information and research about devices interfering with sleep. 

And yet, I often find it really hard not to look at my phone when I’m lying there feeding Little Bug. It helps to pass the time and stops me fretting about the fact that I’m not sleeping. 

However, I’m finding that I’m suffering from insomnia more and more; lying awake with my mind racing while Little Bug sleeps. It is so frustrating when you’ve been willing your baby to sleep and when they finally do, you are wide awake yourself!

So I’m going to make a concerted effort not to look at my phone before bedtime and during the night. Fingers crossed it will help me to sleep a little better. 

Leave a Reply

